Light winds Give “ No Eye Deer” a clear victory



Trevor Conyers Crew
Trevor Conyers and Crew

Light and fickle winds compounded with strong tides tested the skills of the 10 J’s  participating at the SA state heats on the weekend of the 13th & 14th March.

The six races were always close with only five minutes separating the first and last boats in many of the races. Even those boats at the back of the fleet found the competition tense and enjoyed the thrill of coming in only a split second in front of another boat.

Trevor Conyers and his crew aboard No Eye Deer demonstrated consistent form in winning all but one race with Alyn Stevenson and Simon Grain always close on his tail.

As is a hallmark of J events the participants had a great time together and we very much appreciated the participation of our national president and his crew who incidentally presented the trophies to the winners even if that meant giving two to himself.

Thanks must go to the race officers who handled a constantly shifting course with considerable skill and also to the CYCSA who were our gracious hosts.

It was fantastic to see our fleet numbers up this year and with two other clubs showing significant interest in starting their own J fleets we reckon the J’s are in for a big year.

Simon Grain and Crew

The final results were

No eye Deer                Trevor Conyers

Fun 2                           Alyn Stevenson

Fun                              Simon Grain

Hi                                 Peter Stevens

Vertigo             Jamie Goode

Such is Life                   Roger Nicholson

Good Company            Robin Townsend

Kaizan 2                       Michael McGlinchey

Foolish Behaviour         Rod Wenham

Cookie Monster           Brian Walsh


For a break down of each race and PHS results go to the CYCSA website under racing results.

Rod Wenham

J24 SA President